How to Write Dialogue #Editingtips

how to write dialouge

Dialogue is Tough.

I’ve read some novels which left me in tears–but not because the book was emotionally moving.

I am a dialogue Nazi. If the dialogue sucks, I’m out. Here are some tips to help your dialogue.

Tip 1: Give your dialogue personality. 

Example: (Cheesy) “George, I’m scared. My crystal balls have predicted that awful things are going to happen to us at the park on Friday night. We can’t go. It’s Friday the 13th. I’ve seen signs of frightening things in the balls for us.”

Example: (Non-cheese) “George, please.” Lisa grabbed George’s arm, her fingers shaking. “You may not believe in crystal balls, but you have to listen this time. We can’t go to the park Friday night.” Lisa’s face paled. “I’ve seen us both die.”

As an author, you want the reader to feel the horror Lisa is feeling.

Tip 2: Add action tags instead of dialogue tags.

Example (dialogue tag): “Let go of my arm!” she screamed.

Example (action tag): “Let go of my arm!” Lisa’s face twisted in agony.

Tip 3: If possible, avoid tags all together. 

“Let go of my arm!”

“I’m not hurting you.”

“Yes you are!” Lisa bit down hard on George’s fingers.

Hope you enjoyed my tips! Brew those books into beautiful works of art!

If you need an editor for that dialogue, come check out my editing packages!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

